Picture
Yesterday I went through my fridge freezer - I was appalled. It was packed full of unmarked 'stuff' that was unrecognizable - little packages of nuts; three, count them THREE bags of prawns (I hate seafood); some Tilapia that had seen better days (again? what's with the seafood?); tiny bags of frozen vegetables with about 1/2 cup in each one; and a Costco size hunk of prosciutto - unsliced of course and left over from some entertaining thing I did at some point (???). But the best of them all was 4 little tubs of chipotle peppers.  Those little jars have about three peppers in them and they are hot little suckers. So I tend to use only one, seal the rest up and stick 'em in the freezer ... over and over again. Am I senile? What is up with that?

Organizing my freezer was a real eye opener for me. Such waste on my part. Amongst my tsk tsk tsk's, there was some "Oh goodie's!" thrown in. I also cleaned my freezer - it was just too disgusting I had to. My pride overtook my laziness. I found some strip loin steaks (man food), homemade hamburger patties galore (honestly Cayla), some chicken breasts and pork chops. This was great because I was out of some big ticket items - like mayonnaise, olive oil, honey and coffee. Preservative free and/or organic of these items is a little pricy. I didn't quite know how I was going to replenish these staples and buy meat within budget - now I don't need to worry... I hope.

I took stock of my pantry and freezer and decided to use up as much stuff as I could.  The Tilapia remains frozen until garbage day, the prawns will be used on some poor guest - probably coconut prawns - I can eat those. (Who wants to come over?) I have no idea what to do with the prosciutto  I mean I don't have a slicer and it is probably full of freezer burn. And isn't it supposed to be thinly sliced? What was I thinking? Again with the senility. Same goes for the hamburger patties there has to be at least a dozen (1-3 in a bag) I may cook 'em up and feed them to the dogs - although even they may say no.

As for us? Here's the menu (so far) for the week - it may change after I go shopping today. As always I'll let you know how I do.

                                                   WEEK 2 of the $150 per week challenge

The items in italics are made mostly from items from found in the freezer, fridge or pantry.
                                             
Dinners:
  • Hearty Lentil Soup
  • Orange Chipotle Chicken, with brown rice, frozen corn and salad with homemade ranch dressing
  • Moroccan Split Pea Soup, with Carrot & Arugula Salad
  • Grilled Steak, with potatoes and fresh green beans
  • Curried Vegetables, with brown rice pilaf
  • Grilled Pork Chops with homemade polenta and tomato sauce
  • Spicy Chicken Stir fry with brown rice
Lunches:
  • Loaded Quinoa Salad, Fruit
  • Turkey/Pear Melt, with garden salad
  • Chick Pea Salad, Fruit
  • Tuna Sandwich, mini carrots, Fruit
  • Leftovers
Breakfast:
  • Poached Eggs on English Muffin with Fresh Tomato, Spinach and 'yogurt cheese'
  • Oatmeal or Millet with raspberries or apple, flax seed, cinnamon and maple syrup
  • Greek Yogurt, raspberries, honey and cinnamon
  • Scrambled eggs, English Muffin, 1/2 Grapefruit
Snacks:
  • Whole Wheat Banana mini muffins
  • Chocolate Oatmeal (don't knock it before you try it)
  • Microwave Popcorn (homemade)
  • Fruit
Desserts:
  • Rhubarb/Strawberry Crunch
  • Baked Apples



Leave a Reply.