Yesterday was St. Patrick's Day. Top 'o the marrnin' to ya and all that. Now be it known, I'm not Irish. Not a drop of Irish blood runs through these veins. Scottish yes. Irish no. But St. Patrick's day involves Irish Whiskey, and beer and general frivolity, whilst Robbie Burns day involves Haggis. Game over.

So in our house, in our own way we celebrate St. Patrick's Day. I make something traditional for dinner. Buy some Guinness and my husband and I watch a movie in the evening with something to do with Ireland. The favourite being Waking Ned Divine. I do love that movie.

Yesterday was no different. I love to cook and I love to keep things simple. I'm not a fancy cook, but I'm a good cook and I like that. I'm that way with a lot of things. My house isn't fancy, but it's nice and homey. I don't walk around in designer this and that, but I try to look put together, unless of course I'm walking the dogs, then I look like a bag lady. I figure, the neighbours deserve to know their real neighbour - that way when I arrive at their party all dolled up it's a surprise.
Picture
I didn't even bother to iron the napkins. Mother would be mortified.
Yesterday I made Shepherd's Pie in my cast iron pan (my god I do love that pan). A fresh garden salad for some greenery and Bananas Flambe for dessert.  I made the Bananas Flambe with Irish Whiskey (it was St. Patrick's Day after all) and served it over slices of pound cake with a scoop of real vanilla ice cream. Dinner was very tasty indeed, but the dessert was heavenly. It was quick - I whipped it up after dinner - ready and served in about 10-15 minutes. And absolutely oh my God, worth every calorie kind of good. I should have taken a picture, but I was too busy playing with fire and really just wanted to get into it.

Now for the real reason for this post. After eating all of that, I was sick. Walking sluggishly in search of the couch after Christmas dinner kind of sick. I was so full it was disgusting. Why I do that to myself I do not know. There is no answer except to say that I like my own cooking, and I love food. it is in times like this that I put food first ahead of my health and my goals.

I haven't blogged about weight in a while. To be honest I have been trying to figure out where I stand on the subject. But Spring is starting to spring and with that my energy and feeling of well being and new beginnings emerge and the thought of weight and the excess of it rears its ugly head, again. I've said it before and I'll say it again I hate diets. I don't want to be on one. I really just want to figure things out for me. What works for me - this body at this age. The magic words - a lifestyle change. Lord help me.

Those of you who have read my past posts know that for a while there I was making a change every week. For the first little while things were going well and then all of a sudden it became overwhelming. My pea brain can only handle a few changes at a time. So I've decided to bring things back to reality and take things slow. I'm going to do three things.

1.    Drink my water.
2.    Walk every day.
3.    Log my food intake.

That's it. I eat fairly healthy - last night's dinner was an anomaly in our house. Really it was. Tonight is grilled chicken with feta, olives and sun dried tomatoes, Kasha, and broccoli. I might have a glass of wine too. That's more the norm for us. Actually I lie, tonight is my first time making Kasha - it may be the last, but if not Kasha it would be brown rice.

I am going to yell from the roof tops "Logging my food is a pain in the butt!". Wash the floor, log my food - same diff. Iron, log my food - same diff.  However, I want to get a grip on whats going on with my body and that is more important to me that feeling inconvenienced. I figure logging my food could be rather eye opening. If I'm honest with myself I may find out I'm eating 3000 calories a day. What? That's too much? No!  I have joined Spark People to help me along the way and to hopefully keep me motivated. It's a great site full of information, but the best part of it all is that it's totally free. And we all know I'm cheap. My goal is to log everything I put into my body consistently for one week. But right now I'm starting with one meal at a time. They say the truth shall set you free - we shall see about that.

Making sure I drink all of my water takes concentration. Apparently the more water I drink the more concentration I'll have. So, it should be easy - and I can track it within Spark People too. Easy peasy.

Walking every day is not a chore. I love that. Making the time to do it within my schedule can be a pain, but with the days getting longer things are on the upswing. I'm going to make walking a priority in my life. Plain and simple.

So there you have it from what seemed to be a gazillion changes down to three. Let's see how this works.

In the same vein, a friend of mine has started a blog - she's witty and is just starting out on her journey into weight loss. You might enjoy her blog too called My Big Fat Canadian Ass.





Leave a Reply.