When I was a kid there was a lady who cleaned the church bathroom. Sister Redekop was very diligent in her work. She also had severe body odor and hairy armpits. Actually, she was generally hairy, at least the parts of her that were visible and I dared to look at. She also used vinegar to clean the bathrooms. For years the smell of vinegar reminded me of body odor and Sister Redekop. And still...

Miracle All Purpose Disinfectant Cleaner

1/4-1/2 Cup Vinegar (I use the type specifically for cleaning - balsamic is not recommended)
1/2 tsp. Liquid Dish Soap
2    Cups Water

Put it all in a spray bottle. (I got mine at the Dollar Store)

1 Package of lint free microfiber cloths (I got mine at Wal-mart)

You can clean so much of your house with this product it's nuts. I sound like the father from "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" with the Windex. But it's true. This stuff is great!

Use on:
  • Glass Tables
  • Mirrors
  • Stainless Steel Appliances
  • Counter Tops
  • Bathroom Counters and Sinks
  • Furniture (but I'll talk about that later)
  • Windows (use a squeegee)
  • Floors (depending on type of floor) I use a damp mop method.
  • Walls and more ...
Some examples ...

I have glass tables in the living room. Spray it on, wipe with the cloth. Flip the cloth over to dry, and you're done.

Windows are a snap. Get a squeegee and you'll have a big job done in no time. Spray the window with your miracle cleanser. Give them a wipe with one your handy dandy micro fibre cloths. Then squeegee away. Streak free shine.

Bathroom - Spray it on the counters and sinks. Leave it on for a bit. (I clean the mirrors while it sits) and then wipe. Sparkly clean.

The value ...

This cleaner is cheap like borscht. Vinegar is a natural disinfectant. It works! And, if you imagine you're eating salt and vinegar chips while your cleaning it's rather fun and filling. The thing is, you know what is going on your surfaces. It's vinegar and some soap. You can drink vinegar (I don't recommend it unless its on a salad) and you can eat soap (unless you said bad words I don't recommend that either). The thing is it won't hurt you, but it cleans like a trooper and gets rid of the germs. It's good stuff. Try it. You'll get use to the smell. Remember Sister Redekop? If I can do it, so can you.







Julie
8/9/2011 11:23:11 am

Great info, Cayla! My mom cleaned houses for a living when I was growing up. She swore by a touch of ammonia in hot water to clean windows and mirrors. Used a squeegy and a cloth and had them sparkling without the use of expensive, chemical ridden cleaners. Unfortunately, she didn't have an oven cleaner that wasn't full of toxins. I would see her inhaling cough-inducing fumes as she sprayed some horrid chemical concoction in a dirty oven that she was determined to "do her best" to clean. Although she never smoked a day in her life or shared a home with any smokers, she spent her final years on oxygen as a result of developing COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease). I attribute this to all the canned toxins she inhaled while cleaning all those ovens. I'm all for the "natural" approach to cleaning. I will definitely try your suggestions! Thank you!

Reply
Cayla
8/9/2011 04:32:09 pm

Hey Julie. I'm sorry to hear about your mom. Watching someone you love suffer is the most difficult thing. My heart goes out to you.

I'm glad that you find my routines helpful. I've added a page that you can download all the cleaning recipes on one page for a handy reference.

Oddly enough I have a non toxic oven cleaner recipe at my disposal, I've just never used it since nowadays our ovens are thankfully self cleaning. Although mine still manages to get dirty. I haven't tested it though, so I didn't include it on the list.

I hope you do try the suggestions and I hope they work for you as well as they have for me. Let me know!

Reply



Leave a Reply.