Picture
Some of you may have noticed - I like to cook. I like to cook different types of food. Lots of different ethnic styles. Lets face it - my mother was Scottish and except for Scones, (pronounced Skawns by the way - there mom I made you happy) porridge (why would they take credit for that is beyond me) oh and lets not forget Haggis (no witty comment required) there isn't much to choose from. Being Canadian, I can't think of one national food. I guess there is maple syrup and smoked salmon. I put maple syrup on my oatmeal in the morning so I am covering all of my roots on that one. And I'm not a fan of seafood so the smoked salmon doesn't float my personal boat. That was a round about way of saying why I cook a lot of varieties of food. Which brings me to the reason of this post. Cooking odors.

Last night we had a party here in the neighborhood. Last year the men were all dressed as women and it was quite the sight to behold. This year only one male neighbor was wearing a dress and a new one at that, a black sequenced number, complete with hairy legs and chest. But that was about it. The other costumes were rather tame by comparison. There was the standard vagrant, pink flamingo and my next door neighbor walked around all night with a rubber chicken. Nudie Joe's costume was well .... clothes. It was a fun night.

So, I made and brought Prawn Vindaloo (if some of you have read other parts of this blog, you will note that I had three bags of frozen prawns in my freezer) I finally found a use for them. :) Unfortunately, I woke up this morning to the smell of curry. Now when I'm cooking curry and having it for dinner I don't mind the lingering smell. It reminds me of my efforts. But the smell of curry with my morning oatmeal is not so appetizing. Instead of pulling out a spray of chemical who knows what with which I would inhale those same chemicals all day. And when it was all said and done, the spray would only mask the offending odor I made my own ...

"Smell Be Gone!"

Some Vinegar
Some Water (equal parts with vinegar)
Some Orange Peel
Some Cloves

I put it in a pot on the stove and let it simmer. Now for some reason instead of wanting to watch a Bollywood Movie I want to put on some Christmas music. Go figure. Deck the halls with boughs of holly, fa la la la la la la la la .... Tis the season ...




Leave a Reply.